South West Ridge 72-153

Large western views. Private hot tub. Ping pong Wood fireplace. Shuttle route


*Western Sunset View
*Large decks
*Two wood burning fireplaces
*Ping Pong Table
*Free on call shuttle route
*Two kitchens
*Two living areas
*Easy driveway

Rooms & Amenities

Property TypeHouse
Unit Code SWR72
Beds 1 King, 5 Queen, 2 Twin, 1 Full
Bathrooms 4 Bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 16 , Master: King (main level). Bedroom 2: Queen (main level). Bedroom 3: 2 Queens (down). Bedroom 4: 2 Twins & Queen(down). Bedroom 5: 2 Queens (down).
Pets Dogs
Standard Amenities combination tub/shower, king, queen, shower, sleep sofa /futon, twin/ single, autumn foliage, caves, churches, festivals, forests, library, playground, restaurants, waterfalls, Dining, Ping Pong Table, Satellite / Cable, Television, Fireplace, Heating, Internet, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Telephone, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, photography, scenic drives, sledding, walking, ATM/bank, massage therapist, Resort, Balcony, Bicycles, Golf, Ski & Snowboard, Hot Tub, bedroom, shower, cycling, fishing, fly fishing, golf, hiking, mountain biking, mountain climbing, mountaineering, skiing, spelunking, children welcome, pets considered, flexible, Adventure, Away From It All, Enhanced cleaning practices, Clean with disinfectant
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Ice Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher
Living Central Air, Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Ironing Board, Internet Access, Fireplace, Wood Burning Fireplace, Washer/Dryer
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Wi-Fi Internet
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Golf Course, Shuttle
Culture Opera House
Outdoor Deck, Wildlife, Caves, Bird Watching, Fly Fishing, Mountain Biking, Golf, Hiking, Horseback Riding
Geographic Easy Slope Access, South Mountain, Basin, On Shuttle Route
Entertainment Satellite TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Ping Pong Table

27 Reviews

Overall satisfaction
Property condition

81.48% of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Would not recommend the house or the management company

Anonymous from Columbia, SC, US
Stayed 7 days ending September 2022

My family & I rented a house in Snowshoe, WV for a week & unfortunately, I’ve never had as bad of an experience with a house rental as this one. In addition to having to put out a middle-of-the-night mechanical fire to the heater in the basement where me & my children slept, the house was run down & had a # of broken or nonfunctioning items. The house had no fitted sheets on beds, which caused the sheets to come off, toilet paper holders had no rolls to hold the TP, window screens fell out of doors, vanity front fell off the sink, the bathroom door would stick so our kids got stuck in the bathroom, there was no binder of information telling you how to work TVs or giving the renters info, etc. etc.

To make matters worse, the management company, CASAGO, approached our problems with an overall lack of concern & very non-apologetic response.

The only reason I'm giving it 2 stars instead of 1 is because the location of the rental was close to everything and beautiful.

Complete unprofessionalism

Tawna W. from St. Albans, WV
Stayed 3 days ending June 2022

Rented house in December, March they rented to someone else, finally after calling over and over and saying calls would be returned and never were, they finally put the other people in another place and we got the house since we booked in December. Drive 4 hours there check in day to be told they rented to someone else and they put us in another place. We had planned our whole trip with family based around that house (we had stayed there the year before). My handicapped father in law was with us and cant do steps and only had one step into house, The place they put us in had 17 steps from bottom level to main level and then another 17 steps to upper bedroom level. We had 5 vehicles which fit fine with this house, the one they placed us in had 2. We called when we got to new place for maintenance was told they would let them know, they never showed up. The fact they never called us to even let us know we didn't get house and give us a chance to cancel and get refund,and let us drive 4 hours there and feel like we had no choice but accept replacement condo. We planned out whole trip based on the house, layout, and location. A phone call would have been nice, especially after what I had already went through with the house prior. Will never book with this company again, and we know alot of people that book through them for other houses during winter and summer months who will no longer rent from them again either. Disrespectful and unproffesional.

Myrtle Beach quest

Shana R. from Galivants Ferry, South Carolina,
Stayed 4 days ending January 2022

It was great

Manager Responded on 2/25/2022

Thank you for your input we appreciate your input. Hope to see you in the summer

Overall good experience

Anonymous from EVINGTON, VA
Stayed 3 days ending February 2022

Overall the house was in good shape. It had more than enough room for our 2 family stay. As with most rentals, unfortunately, there were enough things broken or generally not clean to provide a mild aggravation.

Manager Responded on 3/22/2022

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We definitely look forward to seeing you this summer and next winter. Enjoy!

Snowshow - South West Ridge

Anonymous from Great Falls, VA
Stayed 3 days ending May 2022

The house is in the great location with a gorgeous view but lacking chairs on the deck. Kitchen is well equipped and living room spacious enough. However, the house condition and cleanliness was very disappointing. It definitely would benefit from better maintenance, thorough cleaning and refreshment.

Fun Snowshoe WV family weekend

Anonymous from Pittsburgh, PA
Stayed 3 days ending June 2022

The property has a great location, perched on the top of Snowshoe with great wester views, which provided some awesome sunsets. The house does need some maintenance and cleaning. I fixed one of the shower fixtures, which was so loose we couldn't get it to work until I fixed it. With a little bit of cleaning and some basic maintenance this place would be fantastic. The setting is great. The house is big enough for a family of 12, if you don't mind sharing some bathrooms. Walking distance to the snowshoe village, although there is a shuttle, so you don't have to walk. We had a fun time.

Amazing view

Fabrice G. from Aldie, VA
Stayed 4 days ending July 2020

This chalet has a $1M view - we could not get over it and spent a lot of time on the deck enjoying the view.
The beds were comfortable, and the chalet really spacious. The jacuzzi was also a nice treat at the end of the day.
A couple of upgrades/changes:
- the carpet in the basement was stained and shows its age. It could be replaced
- the dryer would not dry effectively and can also be replaced/

Manager Responded on 7/21/2020

Thank you for your recent visit. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you this winter.

Great Stay

P. Tim M. from Augusta, GA
Stayed 5 days ending January 2021

Our group had a great time at 72 South West Ridge. The home was perfect for families. It's clear the home has been "used" over the years; nevertheless it was comfortable and had everything we needed. The rental company was very responsive to the minor concerns we brought up during our stay. We would gladly rent the property again in the future if the opportunity presents itself.

Amazing view and comfy accomodation

Anonymous from NORFOLK, VA
Stayed 4 days ending November 2020

One million dollar view! Very nice stay at West Ridge.

Wonderful stay

Tawna W. from St. Albans, WV
Stayed 3 days ending June 2021

House was wonderful and big enough for our crew of 9 to have privacy and together time. Management was wonderful and very easy to work with. Will definitely stay there again.

Manager Responded on 7/1/2021

Thank you for your kind words - we strive to make our guests happy!!

Spring getaway

Nancy J. from Marriottsville, Md
Stayed 3 days ending March 2021

The house was unbelievably huge , very woodsy decor . It was very clean but the decor was very outdated. ( like 1990s) we arrived after dark in a snowstorm but aside from the snow a little piled everything worked well. Kitchenware( especially pots and silverware should be replaced. It was foggy and raining the rest of the time but we made the best of it.

End of July Stay

Heather H. from Upper Arlington, OH, US
Stayed 3 days ending August 2021

Overall a good stay, but the house needed better cleaning.

Manager Responded on 9/26/2021

Hi Heather Thank you for your response. Mountain Valley Realty will definitely look into the cleanliness of the house. We look forward to seeing you soon.

February 17-20, 2022 Guests

Austin D. from Charlotte, NC
Stayed 3 days ending February 2022

The house was in a perfect location and even better than the pictures portrayed. 5 minute walk to top of the world and the slopes could not have been more convenient. There were some minor damages when we arrived like a missing toilet paper holder, broken chair in a closet, kitchen island table top moves when you lean on it and a few others, but nothing that would deter us from staying again. Overall it was fantastic and I would highly recommend for anyone with a party of 10-15.

Manager Responded on 3/29/2022

We do appreciate your input. We look forward to seeing you next summer & winter. Enjoy!

Beautiful views!

Brian P. from Richmond, VA
Stayed 4 days ending December 2021

The house was large and accommodated all of our needs. The hot tub and ping-pong table were great. There are some things broken around the house like toilet paper holders, shower temperature gauge handles etc. that should be fixed. The decor is old and needs updated. An electric can opener would have been helpful as we did most of our eating at home. If you are driving from Cass you will drive past both entrances to Snowshoe to get to Mountain Realty to pick up your keys which adds about 30 minutes to your trip. They did allow us to leave the keys in the house and not drive them back to Mountain Realty. We did not have to use the shuttle as someone drove the skiers to the village, but we were also able to easily walk 10 minute to the village uphill as well. Would probably need a four-wheel-drive if it was icy and snowy. Overall a pleasant experience.

Great house with great views

Anonymous from S. Pointe, OH
Stayed 2 days ending December 2014

Great location, shuttle service quick to respond, plenty of room, pictures of house online do not do this place any justice way nicer than what it looks, problem with toilet quickly resolved upon arrival

Manager Responded on 1/18/2015

We LOVE the views from this house as well-Feels as if you are floating on the clouds!

Don't get snowed in... or do, it's a nice house

Steven H. from Washington, DC
Stayed 3 days ending February 2015

The driveway is a very steep, so if it's going to snow while you're there only park cars with 4-wheel drive at the bottom (unless you want to spend some extra time there waiting to get towed out). Other than that, everything about the house was great, the shuttle was super convenient for getting to and from the slopes.

South West Ridge 72

Alan S. from Reston, VA
Stayed 3 days ending December 2015

Fantastic! The place was clean and organized. No problems with any of the appliances, and plenty of firewood to burn.

Manager Responded on 1/4/2016

Cozy wood burning fireplaces with beautiful views, we love it too! Glad you enjoyed your stay!

youth winter trip

Loree C. from Keystone Heights, FL
Stayed 3 days ending December 2015

took the youth from our church for winter trip was going to ski but there was no snow but snowshoe and mountain realty was very helpful and upfront about weather situation found other stuff that they could do still had a great trip wonderful house enough room for our group wonderful layout of house we were not cramped at all. thanks again really enjoyed our stay.

Manager Responded on 1/4/2016

We love South West Ridge for the large space and large views! Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again.

Snowshoe Mountain House Rental

Ben J. from Bethesda, MD
Stayed 3 days ending January 2018

Overall, we had a good experience. There were a few things that were disappointing though. We found beer cans outside the house when we walked up, the hot tub didn't work and the house didn't have enough hot water to even supply the Jacuzzi tub and so we didn't have an alternative for the kids who were very excited about the idea of a hot tub after skiing. Beyond those things, the house was big and comfortable and worked out well for our three families that stayed there. It was conveniently located to the village and the shuttle worked out well.

Beautiful Mtn view

Anonymous from HILLSBOROUGH, NC
Stayed 4 days ending December 2017

Breathtaking views. Plenty of room. Big kitchen. Excellent directions. Nice people who manage the property. We enjoyed the free shuttle.

Great Space for a Large Family

Konstanze J. from Mechanicsville, VA
Stayed 4 days ending September 2018

We brought our extended family, 13 people including 5 kids age 3 to 14, for a long weekend. This property was a perfect fit! Room enough for everyone to spread out by a layout that allowed us to watch the little ones without being in the same space. 😉 The views at sunset were amazing when it was clear. Though there house showed some signs of wear and tear, they did not interfere with our visit at all. Overall, a very nice property that we will probably revisit.

Manager Responded on 9/29/2018

Thank you for your comments we appreciate it. Mountain Valley Realty looks forward to seeing you this winter.

Loved our visit!!

Myers, T. from Fairmont, WV
Stayed 3 days ending June 2018

We rented the house for the weekend of the GNCC races and it was perfect! The size of the house, the parking space for our box trailers with the bikes in them, the location, and not to mention the House was beautiful! We had many sit down meals with our friends in the large kitchen, we relaxed in the huge living room, and the kids enjoyed the ping pong table downstairs. The hot tub was a huge plus as well 🙂

A Fun Family Oriented Getaway

Heidi C. from Cincinnati, OH
Stayed 5 days ending November 2018

The cabin was easy to find with the hospitality app and the Mountain Valley Realty personal were helpful when we called. We did not know the one road was closed so finding an alternative route was tricky. The cabin was well equipped with blankets and pillows. It was clean and a lot of firewood. The bottom level was extremely cold but a fire was not attempted in the lower level which might have helped. The kitchen had a lot of equipment. It would be helpful to have a dustpan and better can opener. It was helpful to have two fridge and two ovens since we cooked a whole Thanksgiving dinner while we were there. We really had a wonderful time and enjoyed the occasional walk into Snowshoe. Thank you.

Great views at a reasonable price

Anonymous from Falls Church, VA,
Stayed 4 days ending September 2019

Good value. The staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly. We got there early, but they didn't mind us checking in. The cleaning crew was still working hard and finishing up, and they did a good job. The place was overall clean, but you could tell that it gets a lot of use from skiers, mountain bikers, and pets, and hey, we aren't the cleanest, gentlest bunch. There are definitely a few maintenance items that need attention.

The best part was the breathtaking western views of the valley and mountains! The hot tub was utilized, and got pretty frothy, but seemed to be clean. Plenty enough room for 16 adults.

Nice and well equipped property

Anonymous from Lake Villa, IL
Stayed 9 days ending August 2019

Property located on top of mountain, next to Snowshoe Village. U shaped driveway makes it easy to get in and out. Property is well equipped with everything that is needed. It is not top quality but it is clean, roomy and functional. What could be improved? Some windows are not covered and some have thin white blinds which makes it difficult to sleep after sunrise for those needing more dark. It's difficult to control the temp in the house. With 4 thermostats, the basements stays very cold while the upstairs is much warmer. The master bathtub is leaking water into the basement. Internet is in and out. Spammers keep calling the house phone. There is a community trash container next door which tends to smell and if others don't close it, the bears will get in it and spread out the trash all over the place. It would help to have coupons for amenities offered at Snowshoe as they were all quite pricey.

Amenities not as listed

Anonymous from Chapel Hill, NC
Stayed 3 days ending December 2019

Amenities listed were phone, shuttle, internet, ping pong table and hot tub. Needless to say we only had a hot tub. Disappointed. No cell service, no internet and no landline meant we couldn't call the shuttle or look up things to do or call for questions, reservations. Landline phone was fixed halfway through our stay but there was no internet or ping pong table. There wasn't a storm either. The phone tech told us there wasn't internet provided at this property. Not ideal.

Manager Responded on 1/9/2020

The shuttle runs by around every 20 minutes continuously throuhout the day. We understand the frustration with the land line and internet an was working with the service provider to repair while you were here. Not sure what phone tech you were talkig to but the property does have internet unfortunately is was not working for you. Our online services as well as employees talk about cell service as we are in the Quiet Zone and it is mostly AT&T that will work, however, some mini towers have been placed in the Central Village that accomodates Verizon. The ping pong table was broken due to some ruff play we should have notified you of that prior to your arrival. This is a wonderful property and lots of guests, family and frends have enjoyed for years.


Anonymous from Virginia Beach, VA
Stayed 3 days ending December 2019

The house was a great size, but a lot of things needed repairs. Just one TV worked in the house. The pictures show a ping pong table and it is not there. It should have been more maintained for the price you pay.

Manager Responded on 1/9/2020

Hi, Thank you for your input and we will share concerns with the owners. The owners do have plans to make some changes and upgrades this year. The ping pong table was broken due to ruff play and we should have contacted you about that prior to your arrival. Lots of years of enjoyment have been had in this property, please try it again. Have a Great Year and remember there is Summer Fun to be had at Snowshoe and throughout Pocahontas County.


    Book This Unit