A Mountain Retreat

Secluded Upscaled Cabin close to Snowshoe with private hot tub

Description

'A MOUNTAIN RETREAT'
*Located base of the mountain
*Slatyfork Farm
*High Speed WIFI
* HDTV and Blu-Ray
*Gas Grill
*Great Decks

Aside from The resort itself other nearby activities include hiking, fishing, mountain biking, award winning Raven Golf Club, Cass Scenic Railroad and Green Bank National Radio Observatory! Call today to reserve your 'Mountain Retreat'! 4-wheel drive access only in winter!

Rooms & Amenities

Property TypeCabin / Bungalow
Unit Code MTNRT
Beds 1 King, 3 Queen, 1 Sofa Bed
Bathrooms 3 Bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 6 , Master: King. Bedroom 2: Queen. Bedroom 3: Queen. Queen sleeper sofa. , 1 loft
Pets No Pets Allowed
Standard Amenities combination tub/shower, king, queen, shower, sleep sofa /futon, toilet, tub, autumn foliage, caves, Dining, Books, DVD Player, Satellite / Cable, Television, Air Conditioning, Clothes Dryer, Fireplace, Garage, Hair Dryer, Heating, Internet, Iron & Board, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Telephone, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, bird watching, horseback riding, photography, scenic drives, sledding, walking, Mountain View, Resort, Rural, Deck / Patio, Golf, Lawn / Garden, Outdoor Grill, Ski & Snowboard, Hot Tub, fishing, fly fishing, golf, hiking, mountain biking, skiing, children welcome, non smoking only, pets not allowed, Minimum Age Limit for Renters, flexible, Dining Area, Smoke detectors, Carbon monoxide detector
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Ice Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove Top, Dishwasher
Living Central Air, Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Ironing Board, Internet Access, Gas Log Fireplace, Washer/Dryer
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Bank, Wi-Fi Internet
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Golf Course
Culture Opera House
Outdoor Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Outdoor Furniture, Lots of Deer, Caves, Bird Watching, Fly Fishing, Mountain Biking, Paddle Boating, Forrest, Golf, Hiking, Horseback Riding
Geographic Off Mountain Resort Development
Entertainment Satellite TV, CD Player, DVD Player

19 Reviews


Overall satisfaction
Services
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition

100.00% of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Perfect!

Anonymous from Vinton, VA
Stayed 2 days ending May 2019

My husband and I loved the privacy and serenity of A Mountain Retreat. Waking up to songbirds every morning was a joy.

Great Home

Kirsten N. from Glen Burnie, Maryland
Stayed 3 days ending March 2019

The house was beautiful and the location was great. It was very clean upon arrival. 3 of the staff members were very friendly and helpful.

Comfortable and Well Equipped

Anonymous from Arlington, VA
Stayed 4 days ending July 2018

A little out of the way but very comfortable and well equipped with a nice hot tub, deck, lots of kitchen stuff, good beds, etc. Very peaceful.

A+

Anonymous from Tunnelton, WV
Stayed 3 days ending November 2018

Clean,secluded,perfect little getaway.RELAXING!

Mountain Retreat

Terri M. from Brookhaven, ga
Stayed 7 days ending January 2019

It was as fun as ever and the cabin was great!

Manager Responded on 2/12/2019

Thank you for your review Terri! Hope to see you again next year.

Mountain Retreat

Anonymous from Washington, DC
Stayed 2 days ending March 2019

Perfect house for a place where you can get away, relax and enjoy time with your close family or friends. Definitely a good escape from the city if you're looking to disconnect, go to the mountains and unwind.

Manager Responded on 3/8/2019

Thank you for taking time out of your day, we appreciate your input. Come see us during the summer! We hope to see you soon!

Great ski/mountain escape

Cezarina V. from Forest Hill, MD
Stayed 2 days ending February 2016

I went there with my boyfriend and two other couples to go skiing for the weekend. We had a great time. It was very clean and had everything you could need in it.

Manager Responded on 2/11/2016

A retreat to the mountains! Glad you enjoyed your trip!

Beautiful cabin

Bonnie G. from Smock, PA
Stayed 3 days ending May 2016

The property was very well-maintained and had all of the amenities that made for a wonderful stay. We arrived on motorcycles and the wonderful staff lent us a vehicle to use up and down the mountain. They did everything to ensure we had a wonderful weekend. M

Ski Trip

Connie S. from Miamiville, OH
Stayed 4 days ending December 2016

The place was a great place to stay for the 6 of us. I would highly recommend a stay here away from the hussel and bussel of Snow Shoe but very convenient to get to the slopes

Manager Responded on 1/20/2017

Very peaceful, we agree! We are happy you enjoyed your time here in the Snowshoe area, we hope to see you again.

Beautiful House! Better than photos!

anna p. from Roanoke, VA
Stayed 2 days ending February 2017

The house was spectacular, i will definitely book again. There is no address so going in the pitch black darkness by the little map provided was no easy task. We got lost, so i would recommend doing it in daylight. Everything in the house was lovely, it was bigger than we needed probably and we had 8 people. Price is right. It was pretty clean except for a huge collection of dead ladybugs in the upstairs bedroom by the vest... HUGE and the sink being clogged with paper towels in the kitchen. Maybe they are just swarming this time of year, dont know much about bugs. Overall its a great stay, with good access to the slopes. very happy.

The View will cost ya'

David L. from Timonium, MD
Stayed 4 days ending February 2018

Great house with plenty of space, a gas fireplace that provides more than just ambiance, and a perfectly located hot tub to take in the scenery of the Western Territory. Just a word to the wise, you will definitely need a more than capable 4x4 vehicle to get to this house. It's a very steep and icy roadway wide enough for one car/truck. I saw other posts mention this before, but you have to experience it for yourself. By the 3rd day, its an easy drive, but when you arrive for your first time, and in the dark of night, it's going to surprise you.

Peaceful Retreat

Sara M. from Canton, Ohio
Stayed 3 days ending April 2018

The climb up the mountain is a bit difficult without an SUV or truck, as other renters have noted. The cabin itself is lovely. Spacious and clean. There are ample kitchen utensils and dishes, but no bowls - which is weird. We had brought steaks to grill, but there was no propane. There was also no internet and no TV. We took the empty propane tank to the rental office, and she cheerfully gave us money to get another tank. But it would have been nice to just have that checked and handled before we arrived. At the time of the propane, we said that we really needed the internet to work, and the woman there said she would have her guy check it. But it did not work the entire time we were there, and it did not appear to have been checked again. Other than those issues, it was a lovely cabin, quiet and serene. I'd stay there again if they got the internet working.

Quiet, peaceful, comfortable home

Christy J. from Richmond, VA
Stayed 4 days ending May 2018

Wonderful time, home was clean and had everything we needed. Loved the hot tub and fireplace. Great location, very private. Easy booking, pickup of keys, checking out all quick. Recommend you get groceries on first day and stock up so you don't have to leave! We enjoyed just sitting in nature, reading books, watching movies. Wonderful stay!

Manager Responded on 6/20/2018

Thank you so much, love A Mountain Retreat as well Debbie

Picturesque!

Seth H. from Locust Grove, GA
Stayed 4 days ending February 2015

We had an incredible experience! The property was absolutely beautiful, even more than the pictures revealed. We felt very comfortable and had everything we needed. I was glad, however, that our meals were planned out and we had brought food with us because the weather conditions can cause you to hunker down. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were very grateful to have our roads plowed daily as we arrived during a winter storm and received heavy snowfall during our stay. It truly was a restful, picturesque getaway!

A Mountain Retreat MLK weekend 2015

Maureen S. from Apex, NC
Stayed 4 days ending January 2015

House was beautiful and immaculately kept. Great views.

Great time!

Anonymous from Johnstown, Ohio
Stayed 2 days ending February 2015

Had a group of 8 staying for a birthday party, and we had a wonderful time. Kitchen is fully stocked with cooking utensils. I do however wish they had more towels available. I didn't like having to use the same towel for the hot tub and shower.

Well Stocked Home!

Brandon H. from Mechanicsville, VA
Stayed 4 days ending February 2015

We have stayed at this property several times over the years. This is the most well stocked vacation home I have ever stayed in. The owners have pretty much thought of everything you need while on vacation. The location is remote and you do need a 4 wheel drive during the winter but it is well worth the drive up the mountain to stay at this property. We will be back again!

Beautiful Getaway

Elizabeth C. from Cornelius, NC
Stayed 3 days ending October 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at A Mountain Retreat. The house is gorgeous with a lovely view of surrounding mountains and valley. The star show at night was magnificent, especially when viewed from the hot tub! The house itself was very clean and extremely well stocked - we could have had a feast for the entire mountainside and had service for all. Most certainly coming for a return visit.

Great Hideaway!

Anonymous from Alexandria, VA
Stayed 7 days ending August 2015

We had a wonderful relaxing vacation at Mountain Retreat. The area was beautiful and the time with nature well spent.

Manager Responded on 9/30/2015

Yay! We think A Mountain Retreat is a great spot to be!

    Location

    Book This Unit

    Menu